19 of the Most Overrated Heroes in Movie History

Welcome to the Cracked newsletter!

This issue is about Henry Winkler, Nic Cage memes, song meanings, legacies torn to shreds, funny tweets, and much more.

Was this email forwarded to you? Subscribe here.

A breakout role like the Fonz is what every young comic actor aspires to. But once an actor becomes identified with an iconic TV character, it can be a prison that is nearly impossible to escape. "There were eight or nine years at a time when I couldn't get hired because I was The Fonz,” he told TODAY, “because I was typecast." 

“I had psychic pain that was debilitating because I didn't know what to do,” Winkler says of an acting career tethered to Fonzie. “I didn't know where to find it, whatever it was, I didn't know what I was going to do. I had a family. I had a dog. I had a roof. Oh. My. God.”

Throughout the past two decades of internet humor, there has been nothing more reliably entertaining to the terminally online than screen acting icon Nicolas Cage losing his shit on screen. But what will happen if he ever loses his shit on the terminally online?

Roughly a decade ago, the actor famous for his distinctly expressive artistic style, described by Cage as “Western Kabuki,” commented on his unique online following whose interest in his work seemed to reach past his performances into stranger meta-territory. The community in question was a subreddit called “OneTrueGod,” which accumulated a six-figure membership over meme posts proclaiming the divinity of the actor who inspired scores of ubiquitous screenshots shared in forums across the internet.

TWEET OF THE DAY